not as pretentious as the header image suggests, but just as awesome

SOLD! Congrats to Simon Jimenez and THE VANISHED BIRDS!

Please help us congratulate Simon Jimenez on the sale of THE VANISHED BIRDS!!

From Publisher’s Marketplace:

Debut
Simon Jimenez’s THE VANISHED BIRDS, about a ship captain who takes in a mysterious child who fell from the sky—and who may have society-shattering powers, to Sarah Peed at Del Rey, in a pre-empt, by Hannah Fergesen at kt literary.

I took on Simon’s gorgeous, diverse debut this summer and it has been a whirlwind ever since. Sarah Peed at Del Rey pre-empted World English rights for Simon’s novel, THE VANISHED BIRDS, pitched as for fans of N.K. Jemisin and Ted Chiang, along with glowing praise from the entire Del Rey team. I cannot wait for the world to read this incredibly human, lush, and all around astounding novel in 2020.

Congratulations, Simon!!!