Happy Book Birthday to Henry Clark!

Congratulations to Henry Clark on today’s release of WHAT WE FOUND IN THE CORN MAZE AND HOW IT SAVED A DRAGON, from Little Brown Books for Young Readers.

Check out all of Henry’s books here.

You can follow Henry and say congratulations on Twitter, too!

An ordinary day turns extraordinary when twelve-year-old Cal witnesses his neighbor Modesty summon a slew of lost coins without lifting a finger. Turns out she has a secret manual of magic spells . . . but they only work sometimes. And they’re the most boring spells ever: To Change the Color of a Room, To Repair a Chimney, To Walk With Stilts, To Untangle Yarn. Useless!

But when Cal, his friend Drew, and Modesty are suddenly transported to the world the spells come from — a world that’s about to lose its last dragon — they’ll have to find a way to use the oddly specific incantations to save the day, if only they can figure out when magic works.

From the inventive mind of Henry Clark comes a hilariously wacky adventure about magic, friendship, a lookout tower come to life, a maze in the shape of a dragon, an actual dragon named Phlogiston, and lots and lots of popcorn.

“[A] good choice for fans of The Phantom Tollbooth and The Westing Game and Chris Grabenstein’s Mr. Lemoncello books. While there’s plenty of slapstick, the physical comedy is surrounded by wordplay, a good balance of sophisticated and silly.” ~Kirkus Reviews

“Tongue firmly in cheek, Clark propels his squabbling eco-crusaders through a rush of misadventures that test their credibility as well as ingenuity on the way to a confrontation with an oddly familiar villain who loudly dismisses the climate change as “fake news.” Another romp from the author of WHAT WE FOUND IN THE SOFA AND HOW IT SAVED THE WORLD (2013).” ~ Starred Review, Booklist