Happy Book Birthday to TRULY DEVIOUS!

January 17th, 2018 • Kate

I’m a day late, but still sincere in wishing Maureen Johnson a (belated) happy book birthday for TRULY DEVIOUS!

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

The reviews have poured in for this one, with raves from Bookish — “Maureen Johnson’s private school thriller will keep readers up late into the night until they’ve solved the case.”; Hypable — “Riddles, cryptic messages, and puzzles abound to make Truly Devious an absorbing and thrilling whodunit fit for all ages. A cliffhanger of an ending leaves readers breathless in anticipation of the sequel, with many more twists and turns to come over the three books in the series.”; as well as coverage inHello Giggles, BookRiot, USA Today’s Happily Ever After blog, and the usual trades, including Kirkus, Booklist, School Library Journal, and a starred Publishers Weekly.

Grab your copy now!

Be Sociable, Share!

Filed Under: News

Tags: , , , ,


Comments are closed.